Plant based

Is Rice Gluten Free?

Yes, all rice is gluten-free compared to others in its natural form. Rice is one of the most preferred gluten-free grains for people with celiac disease. Specific rice mixes, “wheat-free” rice, and rice from leading manufacturers that produce gluten products may contain gluten. But if you buy it unprocessed, you are assured of getting gluten-free rice.

Even Asian sticky rice, called “glutinous rice,” is gluten-free. The “glutinous” term here refers to the sticky nature of the rice, not the gluten protein found in wheat, barley and rye. 

It is important to know more about this food item if you are suffering from celiac disease.


Can rice be a part of a gluten-free diet?

Rice in its purest form is an excellent option for people sensitive to or allergic to gluten. This protein is usually found in wheat, barley, and rye, and for people with celiac disease, an autoimmune disease triggered by gluten.

Therefore, rice can be a staple of a gluten-free diet. However, you should eat a variety of whole grains to ensure you get essential vitamins and minerals in your diet. There is a massive count of other grain options you can consume if you are gluten-free.

Varieties Of Gluten-Free Rice

Rice, in its pure form, is gluten-free. This whole grain is available in wide varieties, which differ in nutritional content and health benefits.

If you pick a bowl of rice without a recipe, choose the best that’s unrefined (brown) rice to increase your nutritional intake.

Note- You can also go for gluten free oat milk

As discussed, there are three popular types of gluten-free rice.  

Brown rice

Brown rice is packed with nutrition. It contains manganese, selenium, and fibre. This variety of rice has more texture because it’s unrefined and retains the bran and germ. While processing white rice, these are removed. It is essential to store uncooked brown rice in an air-tight container or refrigerator to keep it fresh.

White rice

White rice is a prevalent type of rice but has been stripped of its nutritional value. Fibre and other vitamins and minerals are removed from white rice to create a smoother texture and prolong shelf life.


Wild rice

Wild rice isn’t a bowl of rice, even though it’s marketed as one. It is grass and gluten-free. Wild rice is more challenging to grow than other mentioned rice. The variety may be more expensive. Hence, these are mixed with brown or white rice to reduce costs. Wild rice has many vitamins and minerals, including fibre, folate, and vitamin B-6. It’s also rich in antioxidants.


However, some rice recipes may not be gluten-free because they’re made with other gluten ingredients.


What else should you try?

Although it’s healthy and gluten-free, rice cannot be your sole partner, the only grain in your diet. Choose one of the many other grain products you can consume without any problem. Ensure you read food labels to ensure the product is free of gluten and isn’t at risk of contamination.

Other gluten-free grains or carbohydrates you can use in place of rice include quinoa, millet, corn, beans and lentils. ‌

Are you sensitive to gluten and looking for gluten-free mail? 

Here are some fantastic tips to make sure your rice meal is healthy and safe to eat:


  • Don’t buy rice in bulk bins to avoid any confusion
  • Call restaurants before ordering to ask whether certain items on the menu are gluten-free. 
  • Ask for plain rice with no seasonings or other ingredients when dining out.
  • When shopping, check labels to make sure food is truly gluten-free.
  • Call the food brand for more information if it’s not clear from the title whether the product has gluten or not.

ALT. CO. is your trusted partner to get the supply of gluten free products like the best oat milk in India . We have the aim to make people lead a happy and gluten free life. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *