Oat milk is one of the best dairy-free alternatives to cow milk. It is made with oats and is consumed by a huge count of people worldwide. But the foremost concern and a topic of discussion about this dairy-free product are, “Is oat milk gluten-free“? If yes, which brands are promising the assured quality of gluten-free oat milk online.
Are you concerned about all these questions? Then take a sigh of relief as you will get all your queries resolved in this blog. Then only you can confidently decide whether consuming oat milk is right for you and your diet or not.
How Is Oat Milk Made?
Oat milk is made the same way any other nut or dairy-free milk is prepared. Whole rolled oats are soaked with water for one hour, and then it is blended on high in a high-speed blender. After blending, the liquid is strained from the mixture and the remaining solids are put aside. The left-over liquid is oat milk which can be used in any of your favourite recipes or on cereal, just like regular dairy milk.
Some oats milk brands add other ingredients to enhance its taste, like sweeteners or vitamins, before making it homogenized to add creaminess and milk-like texture.
Nutrition Support By A Cup Of Oat Milk:
Oats are an excellent source of beta-glucan that may boost heart health by lowering LDL (bad) cholesterol, a soluble fibre. This is the content that gives oat milk its thick consistency even. A 1-cup serving of oat milk provides approx.
Protein: 3 grams
Fat: 5 grams
Carbs: 16 grams
Fibre: 2 grams
Are Oats Really Gluten-Free?
Oats are not 100% gluten-free. These are generally produced as gluten-free products on their own. Still, the condition is they need to be processed in a dedicated gluten-free facility. Then they are safe for a gluten-free diet.
The main reason is because oats aren’t always considered gluten-free. They can become contaminated with gluten in a facility producing gluten-containing grains. The wheat, barley, or rye processing in the same unit somehow results in cross-contamination of gluten in oats.
Is it safe to consume oat milk if I have gluten intolerance?
Many people follow a gluten-free diet as they cannot tolerate oats at all, whether it is labelled gluten-free or not. If you’re one of those gluten intolerants with gluten sensitivity, you’ll definitely need to avoid oat products, including oat milk.
How To Ensure Oat Milk Is Gluten-Free Or Not?
Although there is a massive chance of cross-contamination, finding gluten-free oat milk is not a complex task. Whenever you doubt the safety of gluten in oats or milk, look for the label “100% Certified Gluten-Free” for peace of mind. Also, look for the new GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organisation) certification mark on the gluten-free oat milk online packaging.
Why Is Gluten In Wheat Products Harmful?
Gluten is a group of proteins found in wheat, rye, and barley which is safe for most people to eat. But to so many people, it’s harmful as it inflames and damages the lining of the small intestine in people with celiac disease. Possibly those with gluten sensitivity must avoid this vegan milk in India or elsewhere.
What would be better if you could make this thick and creamy plant-based dairy-free milk at home using high-quality certified oats
Oat milk from these companies can be used in varied recipes that demand creamy, rich milk. As per some of the potential downsides of oat milk
Â· It contains significantly less protein than its dairy alternative, so it never makes you feel full.
Â· It’s generally costlier than cow milk.
Consider any of these brands. Buy oat milk online if you want a gluten-free and vegan diet.
Hope you have got answers to all your queries.